Soccer season wraps up, Bryan athletes rake in honors

5 years ago Triangle 0

By Kat Frazier
Staff Reporter 

As the weather grows cooler and Christmas Break rounds the corner Bryan’s soccer field remains calm, void of crazy fans and game-winning goals.

The varsity men’s season ended after an upsetting 4-1 loss to Tennessee Wesleyan (Athens, Tenn.) in the AAC Tournament Semifinals. The Lions finished the season with an overall record of 12-4-2 and a 6-1-1 record in conference play. They ranked #2 in the AAC and #30 in the NAIA at season’s end.

Coach Joey Johnson was named Coach of the Year. Junior Rasheed Malcolm, Senior Johannes Müller, Freshman Josh Oldroyd, and Sophomore Gustavo Angel Tamayo were named to the All-Conference First Team. All-Conference Second Team honors went to Senior Nate Adams and Junior Jorge Gonzalez Giron. Scotland natives Senior Jordan Devlin and Senior Richard Kirk were named to the All-Conference Third Team, and Jordan Devlin, RasheedMalcolm, Sophomore Alan da Costa, Senior Tom Hemmings, Benedikt Müller, and Johannes Müller were named to the Academic All-Conference Team. At the end of the AAC Tournament Nate Adams and Johannes Müller were named to the All-Tournament Team.

Tom Hemmings was selected as a 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Men’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete. Hemmings, along with Jordan Devlin, Rasheed Malcolm, and Johannes Müller were selected for the 2012 Capital One Academic All-District® Men’s Soccer Team (District 4 College Division’s 1st Team).

The varsity women’s season ended after a 1-0 loss to St. Andrews (Laurinburg, N.C.) in the opening round of the AAC Tournament. The Lady Lions closed the season with an overall record of 3-14-1 and a conference record of 2-6-1. They ranked #9 in the AAC after the season ended 

The Lady Lions earned 12 AAC Awards. Junior Goalkeeper Stephanie Gagnon was named All-Conference First Team, while Senior Lauren Bowling and Freshman Kristin Bryant were named All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Third Team respectfully. The honor of Academic All-Conference Team goes to Lauren Bowling, Senior Hannah Griggs, Junior Dorie Fleming, Junior Lauren Gocke, Sophomore Ashley Jordan, Junior Alex Lewis, Senior Yuri Lopez, Junior Faithe Stout, and Sophomore Morgan Thompson.

Hannah Griggs, Faithe Stout, and Junior Jenna Rajala were named 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athletes.